Apple Sauce

Since the end of the growing season, things have been pretty quiet around here. It has been nice just watching the leaves fall and the snow moving off the mountains into our area, but over all I’ve been pretty bummed since summer left. What am I supposed to do until spring?! COOKING. Duh.

So last month we went to my husbands family farm out in Colorado for the weekend to make cider and I was able to bring back a couple bushels of apples. And when I say apples I really mean giant golden juicy nuggets of goodness. So this week I made two kinds of apple sauce. Plain applesauce and cinnamon apple sauce. You can’t go wrong with either one, both are super sweet and delicious. I got the recipe from The Pioneer Women, and it might be my favorite recipe for applesauce I’ve ever made. I made sure to use apple cider and doubled the recipe! (I also just used a stick blender, one of my favorite kitchen tools.)

APPLE SAUCE

Ingredients
6 pounds Apples, Peeled, Cored, And Cut Into 8 Slices
1 cup Apple Juice Or Apple Cider
Juice Of 1 Lemon
1/2 cup Brown Sugar, Packed
1 teaspoon Cinnamon, More Or Less To Taste

Preparation Instructions

Combine all ingredients in a large pot and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, for 25 minutes.
Carefully puree in a food processor or blender (don’t fill too full; split into two portions if needed) until smooth.
Store in the fridge.

Enjoy!

He's a big fan of home made applesauce

4 thoughts on “Apple Sauce

Leave a Reply

