Basil

Basil: This is one of my very favorite herbs to grow. It smells so wonderful and the taste is unforgettable. We eat a lot of it in our home, on top of spaghetti, in sandwiches and salads and made into pesto.

A little bit about Basil. They love heat and it’s always a good idea to plant basil around the same time as tomatoes. They get sad and droopy if temperatures get below 50 degrees at night. If you’re going to start them indoors I suggest planting them 4-6 weeks before the last frost and they can very fickle starters, so it’s a good idea to plant 2-3 seeds per cell. They are pretty easy to care for once they START.

Good Companions for Basil:

Peppers, Marigold, Tomatoes

Bad Companions for Basil:

Cucumber, Bean, Cabbage

These aren’t the greatest pictures. But I cut back all the plants to right above the second set of leaves. I plan on cutting back the plants once a month to ensure speedy growth and flavorful leaves. Wait until the end of the season to let it go to seed so you get the most out of your plant.

basil after                Basil After

Basil Before               Basil After

I am learning so much this year and can’t wait to see what else I can get my hands on! If you have any questions let me know and I will try and answer to the best of my knowledge. Happy growing season!

Portia Westesen

Leave a Reply

